Timeline of ATI

  • Executive Order No. 116

    When the Department of Agriculture (DA) was reorganized in January 1987 under the Executive Order No. 116, the Bureau of Agricultural Extension (BAEx), the Philippine Agricultural Training Council (PATC) and the Philippine Training Centers for Rural Development (PTC-RD) merged, and paved the way for the establishment of the Agricultural Training Institute (ATI).

    The ATI started its operations in 1987 with 10 training centers from the former PTC-RD. A year after, more training centers were set up adding nine Regional Training Centers (RTC) and seven Farmers’ Training Centers (FTC).

  • Network of Training Centers

    In 1989, more facilities were installed -- adding seven FTCs, seven Regional Fishermen’s Training Centers (RFTC) and the International Training Center on Pig Husbandry (ITCPH). Since then, a total of 41 training centers geographically located nationwide comprised the ATI's network of training centers.

  • Republic Act 8435

    ATI’s role as the DA’s extension and training arm was strengthened with Republic Act 8435 or the Agriculture and Fisheries Modernization Act (AFMA) of 1997.

  • RFTCs back to BFAR

    The RFTCs were turned over to the Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources, while the FTCs were renamed Provincial Training Centers. To date, ATI is operating with its 16 Regional Training Centers and one International Training Center on Pig Husbandry.

  • Quality Management System

    ATI received a plaque of recognition from the Government Quality Management Committee for successfully establishing its Quality Management System leading to its ISO 9001:2008 certification. Likewise, ATI Training Centers in the Cordillera Administrative Region, regions II, VI, VIII, XII, and XIII as well as the International Training Center on Pig Husbandry have earned their certifications after complying the same ISO standards.

  • Under Executive Order No. 116

    The Visayas State University-based ATI was the former Philippine Training Council for Rural Development built in 1978. Our center was the then ATI-National Training Center for the Visayas created through Executive Order 116. Before there were three satellite centers in Region 8 in Borongan, Eastern Samar, Sab-a Basin in Alang-alang, Leyte, and in the Visayas State College of Agriculture in Baybay, Leyte. With the restructured ATI, three centers in the region were merged and the center became one of the 15 regional training centers that serves Region 8, which has six provinces: Leyte, Southern Leyte, Biliran, Western Samar, Eastern Samar, Northern Samar