Area of Coverage


central visayas map

Central Visayas (Cebuano: Tunga-tungang Kabisay-an; Filipino: Gitnang Kabisayaan) is a region of the Philippines, numerically designated as Region VII. It consists of three island provinces: Cebu, Bohol and Siquijor; one province from Negros island: Negros Oriental; and three highly urbanized cities: Cebu City, Lapu-Lapu, and Mandaue.The regional center is Cebu City. The region is dominated by the native speakers of five Visayan languages: Cebuano, Boholano, Bantayanon, Porohanon and Hiligaynon. The land area of the region is 10,500.44 km2 (4,054.24 sq mi), and with a population of 6,041,903 inhabitants, it is the most populous region in the Visayas.

On May 29, 2015, the region was redefined, when Central Visayas (Region VII) lost the province of Negros Oriental to the newly formed Negros Island Region. However, the region was dissolved, with Negros Oriental returned to Central Visayas on August 9, 2017.