Timeline of ATI

  • Executive Order No. 116

    When the Department of Agriculture (DA) was reorganized in January 1987 under the Executive Order No. 116, the Bureau of Agricultural Extension (BAEx), the Philippine Agricultural Training Council (PATC) and the Philippine Training Centers for Rural Development (PTC-RD) merged, and paved the way for the establishment of the Agricultural Training Institute (ATI).

    The ATI started its operations in 1987 with 10 training centers from the former PTC-RD. A year after, more training centers were set up adding nine Regional Training Centers (RTC) and seven Farmers’ Training Centers (FTC).

  • Network of Training Centers

    In 1989, more facilities were installed -- adding seven FTCs, seven Regional Fishermen’s Training Centers (RFTC) and the International Training Center on Pig Husbandry (ITCPH). Since then, a total of 41 training centers geographically located nationwide comprised the ATI's network of training centers.

  • Republic Act 8435

    ATI’s role as the DA’s extension and training arm was strengthened with Republic Act 8435 or the Agriculture and Fisheries Modernization Act (AFMA) of 1997.

  • RFTCs back to BFAR

    The RFTCs were turned over to the Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources, while the FTCs were renamed Provincial Training Centers. To date, ATI is operating with its 16 Regional Training Centers and one International Training Center on Pig Husbandry.

  • Rationalization Plan Under EO 366

    Our Center has been of service to the people of Region 10 since 1988. However, it was restructured and also strengthened through the implementation of the government rationalization plan under EO 366. ATI-RTC X then had two offices to increase service delivery. The main office was based at El Salvador City, Misamis Oriental manned by the majority of its staff. The ATI in Iligan City was retained as a satellite office catering to Lanao del Norte and Iligan City. It was only manned by a skeletal staff. The new and revitalized ATI-RTC X is composed of 35-strong staff from the four centers that used to service separately by province such as:

    ATI in CMU, Musuan, Bukidnon
    ATI in Cagayan de Oro City
    ATI in Iligan City
    ATI in El Salvador City, Misamis Oriental