Historical Background

The Visayas State University-based ATI was the former Philippine Training Council for Rural Development built in 1978. Our center was the then ATI-National Training Center for the Visayas created through Executive Order 116. With the restructured ATI that merged the three centers in the region, our center became one of the 15 regional training centers that serves Region 8, which has six provinces:
  • Leyte
  • Southern Leyte
  • Biliran
  • Western Samar
  • Eastern Samar
  • Northern Samar

Our stakeholders are the:

  • rural development managers
  • extension agents
  • farmers and fisherfolk
  • women and youth