The Agricultural Training Institute (ATI) is one of the line bureaus of the Department of Agriculture created under Executive Order No. 116 signed on January 30, 1987. The Institute is the result of the merger of the Philippine Agriculture Training Council (PATC), Philippine Training Centers for Rural Development (PTCRD) and the Bureau of Agricultural Extension (BAEx).

At the Time of the merger in 1987, there were only 10 training centers nationwide (PTC-RD's). In 1988, 9 Regional Training Centers and 7 Farmers Training Centers were added, making a total of 26. In 1989 the total number of training centers increased to 41 with the addition of 7 Farmers Training Centers and 7 Regional Fisheries Training Centers (RFTCs) But in 1998, the seven RFTCs were returned to the Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources (BFAR), reducing the number to 34.

In 2004, the number of training centers was further reduced to 17 consisting of 15 Regional Training Centers, ARMM and the International Pig Husbandry (ITCPH) in Batangas. Except ITCPH which has 39 staff, all the centers is proposed to be staffed with 33 plantilla positions. The ATI training center in the Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR) is now renamed "ATI-CAR" (from PTC-RD Regional Training Center and ATI-NTC) since the ATI Training Centers are now regionalized. Presently, ATI-CAR is manned by 25 personnel with permanent employment status. The organization is headed by a Training Center Superintendent II. The Center has four (3) sections – Training and Technical Support Services, Administrative Services and Finance Services. ATI-CAR covers the following provinces of the Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR): Abra, Apayao, Benguet, Kalinga and Mt. Province. A total of 76 municipalities and 1 chartered city.