Our History

W hen the Department of Agriculture (DA) was reorganized in January 1987 under the Executive Order No. 116, the Bureau of Agricultural Extension (BAEx), the Philippine Agricultural Training Council (PATC) and the Philippine Training Centers for Rural Development (PTC-RD) merged, and paved the way for the establishment of the Agricultural Training Institute (ATI).

The ATI started with 10 training centers from the former PTC-RD when it became operational in 1987. A year after, the number of training centers nationwide rose to 26 when nine Regional Training Centers (RTC) and seven Farmers’ Training Centers (FTC) were set up.

In 1989, there was a total of 41 training centers nationwide after seven FTCs, seven Regional Fishermen’s Training Centers (RFTC) and the International Training Center on Pig Husbandry (ITCPH) were installed.

ATI’s role as the DA’s extension and training arm was strengthened with the Republic Act 8435 or the Agriculture and Fisheries Modernization Act (AFMA) of 1997. But in November 1998, the RFTCs were turned over to the Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources. Also, the FTCs were renamed Provincial Training Centers.

To date, we have an existing 16 Regional Training Centers all over the country and one International Training Center on Pig Husbandry.